Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is periodic snapshot the right choice?

3 posters

Go down

Is periodic snapshot the right choice? Empty Is periodic snapshot the right choice?

Post  FresnoBob Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:51 am

I'm a newbie to warehousing and in my instance SSAS. I have a database which has an agreement table in which the status of the agreements changes over time. This is stored in the agreement log. the status can be any combination over an extended period of time. One set of questions I will need to answer are how many agreements are of a given status and also to show trends in the status over time. I'm reading Kimball and the periodic snapshot seems to be the best fit but I'm at a loss how to design the fact table. Do I preaggregate the data into periods broken down by status? And then how do I manipulate it in SSAS and how do aggregations work as it's more like a bank balance. I sort of get some of the concepts but I'm still pretty confused. Cheers, Chris.

FresnoBob

Back to top Go down

Is periodic snapshot the right choice? Empty Re: Is periodic snapshot the right choice?

Post  jchernev Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:11 pm

I'm not an expert myself either but it looks like this approach may get you what you want - http://www.kimballgroup.com/html/12dt/DT%20145TimeStampingAccumulatingSnapshotFactTables.pdf

As stated in the pdf, you can deliver both the current state of each grain while maintaining history/trends.

jchernev

Back to top Go down

Is periodic snapshot the right choice? Empty Re: Is periodic snapshot the right choice?

Post  FresnoBob Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:19 pm

Yes I looked at that but I was under the impression that was for a defined set of states that follow a process. In my situation an agreement can be started cancelled uncancelled frozen cancelled again and so on. Am understanding the accumulation incorrectly? Cheers. I'll look at it again.

FresnoBob