Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ESB and ETL

4 posters

Go down

ESB and ETL Empty ESB and ETL

Post  gramanero Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:24 am

I am extremely new to the Kimball group (and DW/BI) and I am struggling to figure out some answers to architectural questions. Please forgive my ignorance and if I incorrectly state something.

What I would like to know is, does the Kimball approach (not sure if there is a better way to phrase that) prohibit an ETL process from taking advantage of an ESB? In order to isolate the structure of one or more application databases from the ETL process, can an ESB be utilized to essentially pump the application data into the ETL process such that changes to the application do not negatively impact the ETL process?

Does the Kimball approach address the idea of application isolation in order to reduce negative impact on other systems such as DW/BI? Or is the nature of DW/BI supposed to be tightly bound to the application database structures?

I don't know that there is a right or wrong answer as to integrating ESB and ETL systems, but from various things that I have read it seems like these two solutions are complimentary.

Any advice would be great and even pointing me off to some resources that may already exist that address what I am asking would be great as well.

Thank you.

gramanero

Back to top Go down

ESB and ETL Empty Re: ESB and ETL

Post  LAndrews Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:14 pm

The Kimball architecture definately supports the use of and ESB architecture - it can be a practical source of information to load into the DW.

What you'll find in practice is that the ESB will be one of many sources of data.