Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Usage flags in subscriber dimension

4 posters

Go down

Usage flags in subscriber dimension Empty Usage flags in subscriber dimension

Post  umutiscan Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:00 am

I have a subscriber dimension with 25 millions distinct subscriber. Business users want to see some flag objects (like active data user flag, active mobile content user flag etc) in BO. These columns will be calculated from last month's usage data. For example if one subscriber has a data usage last month, this subscriber will be marked as "active data user".

We have a monthly aggregated snapshot table and I can get monthly usage data of each subscriber. This table has 160 millions row per month with 16 millions distinct subscriber. And the flag columns will be calculated using this aggregated table.

I don't prefer to add these flag columns to the subscriber dimension. Because they are easily calculable from usage aggregation, and the rules may be change in time. And these flag columns will not be used by all departments.
But my aggregation table is huge, so I decided to create another aggregated table with less detail (or a materialized view). When a user needs to query one of these flags, there will be an outer join to the aggregated table. But if the user needs two flag columns, it will be two joins. I did not execute any performnce test but I have some performance concerns. Do you have any comments or design tips?

Thanks in advace.

umutiscan

Back to top Go down

Usage flags in subscriber dimension Empty Usage flags in subscriber dimension

Post  hkandpal Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:58 am

Hi,

you can try to have both the flags in the MV or the summary monthly table ? Did you try that