Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Repopulating a dw for specific customers

4 posters

Go down

Repopulating a dw for specific customers Empty Repopulating a dw for specific customers

Post  jtigger Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:46 am

Hi,
I am new to datawarehousing and have created a small datawarehouse in sql2008r2.It has been running smoothly until the other day.
WThe have lost 6 months worth of a customers data due to there database becoming corrupt.The data is now back in the live system.
However i now have the task of trying to get this data into my dw.I have no idea what is the best way or how to deal with this situation should it have in the future.
i am thinking of the following,
1.Extract the customer specific details to a seperate test database,maniulate the data there and then insert it into the datawarehouse.

2.Repopulate the whole of the dw.

Option 1 could get messy as i could end up missing data.
Option 2 i think would take time,but at the same time it would mean the data is correct but would take the dw out for sometime.

Please can anyone suggest what is the best option?.I have never come across this and am really unsure what to do in this scenario.
Any advise would be very much appreciated.
Thank you
JTigger

jtigger

Back to top Go down

Repopulating a dw for specific customers Empty Re: Repopulating a dw for specific customers

Post  BoxesAndLines Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:52 am

Database backups and restores.
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Repopulating a dw for specific customers Empty Re: Repopulating a dw for specific customers

Post  ngalemmo Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:10 am

Reload and do regular backups.