Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need to merge fact tables

2 posters

Go down

Need to merge fact tables  Empty Need to merge fact tables

Post  mr_neal Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:13 pm

(Summary)
I have a Contact fact table containing contact history and a Orders fact table containing the history of the order. Contacts can be by phone or in-person (call_type). So my reporting requirement is to show contacts made by call_type and the related order record. Currently we have to perform a function on the orders fact that returns greatest update date where the order ids of each fact match.

One caveat is that when a contact is made, the order may not reflect the latest contact, like if someone is just checking on the status. My thought there was to add contact_id to the order fact, but then I would have to insert a order fact record every time a contact is made.

Well, I'm new to this DW world, so could someone tell me what I'm missing. It seems like I'm joining two fact tables. Please help if possible. :0

mr_neal

Back to top Go down

Need to merge fact tables  Empty Re: Need to merge fact tables

Post  hang Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:08 pm

There are two different fact tables in your case. The first one contains order fact, and the second one order-calls. Contact should be a SCD dimension that contains all the relevant contact details. Order number would be a degenerate dimension that connects the two fact tables.

hang

Back to top Go down

Need to merge fact tables  Empty Order number would be a degenerate dimension

Post  mr_neal Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:07 am

hang wrote:Order number would be a degenerate dimension that connects the two fact tables.