Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fact table, strings and row size

4 posters

Go down

Fact table, strings and row size Empty Fact table, strings and row size

Post  adrianw Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:08 am

I'm very new to dimensional modelling, but I'm looking at a design made by someone very experienced.

That design has in each fact table a set of metadata attributes, e.g. "data provider", along with denormalised versions of things are really dimensions but which no one is ever going to query and make the design too complex to have as dimensions, e.g. currency code, currency description.

So an example row would be:

"RETAIL", "Import from retail transactions", "123.45", "USD", "United State Dollars", 11/22/2010

The upshot of this is that each fact table row is over 1kB, but the actual numeric facts only amount to about 100B. To me that seems madness, meaning I have to spend a huge amount of money on disc bandwidth to feed the processors during table scans (this is SQL Server, so no column oriented compression).

Is this normal/usual/correct?

adrianw

Back to top Go down

Fact table, strings and row size Empty Re: Fact table, strings and row size

Post  John Simon Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:28 pm

It's terrible. It wouldn't matter if it was a columnar database, but in a row-based database like SQL Server it's extremely bad practice. Essentially if you run a query for a sum of amount, you have to go through more pages than you need to, adversely affecting performance.

Rip them out.

John Simon

http://jsimonbi.wordpress.com

Back to top Go down

Post  ngalemmo Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:28 pm

Yep... ditch the text, use dimensions.