Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dimensional models for K-12 education

3 posters

Go down

Dimensional models for K-12 education Empty Dimensional models for K-12 education

Post  chadb Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:19 pm

Hello everyone,
As a DBA I'm just starting out in the data warehousing field and I'm having difficulty locating dimensional model examples for education. The examples that I have come across pertain to sales, manufacturing, billing, etc and I'm looking to find some examples regarding grades and attendance. Does anyone on the forum have experience with modeling dimensions for education or have you found any good resources?

Thanks,
Chad.

chadb

Back to top Go down

Dimensional models for K-12 education Empty Re: Dimensional models for K-12 education

Post  warrent Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:19 am

I haven't seen any openly available dimensional model examples for K-12 out there, but I have seen several for higher education. For example, MIT has made its data warehouse data models available here.

There are lots of companies in the business of selling K-12 data warehouses, many of whom profess to using a dimensional model. Try googling some combination of these words to get a sense for who is in this market: "Education K-12 data model star schema framework". Several of the consulting arms of the major tool vendors also have offerings in this space (Cognos and Oracle are two I've run across).