Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

fact table as a dimension

+2
BoxesAndLines
Phil_Lau
6 posters

Go down

fact table as a dimension Empty fact table as a dimension

Post  Phil_Lau Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:37 pm

Hi

I'm presently modeling a data mart and I would like to use a fact table as a dimension for another fact table. Is it something doable and efficient or is there a better way to do that? if yes should i just create a surrogate key and link both table?

thanks

Phil

Phil_Lau

Back to top Go down

fact table as a dimension Empty Re: fact table as a dimension

Post  BoxesAndLines Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:43 pm

Yes it's doable. Hard to say whether there's a better way based on the details provided. Ideally, you'll have a degenerate dimension to link both tables.
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Post  AaronLS Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:50 pm

I am not an expert on this, so I can't say if what you want to do is doable or not, but I have a couple ideas depending on what your actual goal might be.

Is your existing fact table only measures? Or is there anything there that could be considered dimensional attributes? You could split it into two tables, a fact and dimension, and then the new fact table would relate to the dimension, and could drill across to the other fact table if a query involves measures from both fact tables.

The other thing to consider is whether there are any of your existing dimensions that the two fact tables could potentially share which you could use to drill across. This of course would only make sense depending on what type of query you are trying to support and what the dimension represents.

AaronLS

Back to top Go down

Post  Phil_Lau Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:04 pm

ok
thanks for the quick reply

Phil_Lau

Back to top Go down

Post  ngalemmo Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:30 pm