Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to manage nulls in Fact talble

3 posters

Go down

How to manage nulls in Fact talble Empty How to manage nulls in Fact talble

Post  wizard Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:07 pm

Hello, I am new with data warehousing. I need some help with following questions

1. should the nulls be left as nulls in fact table or should they be replaced with some number that might never be used like -7 or -1. If they should be replced with -1/-7 what's the logic behind this?

2.Secondly how to handle nulls in a fact table with datatype as date . We can not insert a number like -7. Is it a good idea to change the date data type columns present in fact table to varchar2 or char as they are just there for display purpose this way we will be able to insert -7/-1.

Thaks in advance.

wizard

Back to top Go down

How to manage nulls in Fact talble Empty How to manage nulls in the Fact table

Post  warrent Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:26 pm

First, we have to be clear about what columns in the fact table might have nulls. If the column is a foreign key column to one of the dimensions, it must have a value in it. Leaving it null means the fact row will not be included in the results set in a standard inner join between the fact table and the dimension. The -1 idea comes from the way we generally manage surrogate keys in our dimension tables. We usually start with 1 and increment by 1. That leaves the negative numbers available. You would add a row to the dimension with the key of -1 and fill in the descriptive attributes with appropriate entries, like "Missing Product", and "Missing Region".

Here's a link to an old design tip on this topic: Dealing With Nulls In The Dimensional Model