Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

makeing a stand for star schema design

4 posters

Go down

makeing a stand for star schema design Empty makeing a stand for star schema design

Post  lconsalvo Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:45 pm

Hi,
I am new to a financial company and I was asked to model two new sources of data in the existing mortgage data mart (not too sure if you could actually call it a datamart after seeing the design), basically I was asked to create detail information about mortgage servicing data that is provided by two vendors, with different layouts. At this point the details of the requirements may be irrelevant. My impression of the organization is that it lacks true data warehouse knowledge, including myself. I've read plenty of books and took a kimball course last year, and build a dw/dm design for a pharma company for the past 5 years, so i have some hands on experience, but I am far from an expert. I tried to do my four part analysis (subject area, grain of fact table, dimensions and then metrics) ,unfortunately, my users did not understand what I meant and I probably didnt do a good job articulating, what I meant about the grain of the fact table. So I tried to come up with a high level conceptual design of my table layout specs. I presented my initial design pointing out what I thought the fact table would look like and identifying what i thought would be dimensions. neeedless to say, I was told that I needed to keep the design as simple as possible because there was no bi tool being used and the end user's were using TOAD to assess the database and they were very new to sql coding. Any complex joins would be too complicated for them to understand. I was asked to create stand alone tables (borrower dimension, mortgage transaction and a mortgage dimension) each table would contain the mortgage loan number so they link the table rows together, for instance there would be a row in