Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Adding to an existing dimensional model

3 posters

Go down

Adding to an existing dimensional model Empty Adding to an existing dimensional model

Post  robertfowler Wed Jul 14, 2010 2:06 am

Hi all,

I am fairly new to dimensional modelling so I have spent some time trawling the forums for some input and I have learnt some things but I require some further input.

I am modelling the transit of motor vehicles through an access controlled drop-and-go. The scenario includes multiple enty points and multiple exit points both connected to multiple streets. The time spent in the drop-and-go zone is negligable and only the hour in which the vechicles entered/left the drop-and-go is required. The current solution has a fact table with the grain describing the transit of the vehicles; the fact contains the following information:
Time Id - Dimension
Vehicle Type - Dimension
Gate In - Dimension
Street In - Dimension
Gate Out - Dimension
Street Out - Dimension
Number of occupants - Fact

(Additional Ino: As this is a high-traffic flow area the end users are interested in making it as effecient as possible, each gate also has a left turn, righ turn and straight street that the vehicles may use. The gates are laid out such that each street naturally leads to its own gate. The result is that the legacy system also records the street in and street out using dimensiosn DIM_STREET_IN and DIM_STREET_OUT)