Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Data Warehouse for mortgage tracking - need some advice

3 posters

Go down

Data Warehouse for mortgage tracking - need some advice Empty Data Warehouse for mortgage tracking - need some advice

Post  creosote Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:31 pm

Hello, I am fairly new to this, and hope that someone may have some insight on a project our company is looking into. We have acquired several thousand mortgages from a handful of originators, and would like to build a data warehouse to track payments, outstanding balances, late / delinquent loans, etc. It seems easy enough on the surface, but where we seem to be stuck is deciding if 'Loan' would be treated as a dimension or not. One thought is that we'd have a Loan dimension (source, original loan amount, loan number, etc.) and a Loan Payment fact (Loan ID, payment date, payment amount, principal payment, interest payment, remaining balance??). To me, this makes sense logically, but I have read the argument that this is not a good approach, as you'd have a 1 to 1 tie between the tables. So, we're not sure on the proper set up here and have been searching for similar scenarios, but really haven't found anything clear cut. Would any of the experts here have any insight they'd be willing to share? Thanks in advance.

creosote

Back to top Go down

Data Warehouse for mortgage tracking - need some advice Empty Re: Data Warehouse for mortgage tracking - need some advice

Post  ngalemmo Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:13 am