Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to model a generic user

3 posters

Go down

How to model a generic user Empty How to model a generic user

Post  tdeffler Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:10 am

I'm fairly new to dimensional modeling. I have an existing model that already has an employee dimension for people who work at the company and a contact dimension for people who do not. I now need to build a fact table, one of whose dimensions is around users of a system and those users may be either employees or contacts. What is the best approach?

1. Create an entirely new user dimension that replicates the attributes from employee and contact I care about. These attributes would be a partially, but not completely, overlapping set.

2. Create a new user dimension for just the information not already in either employee and contact and put its key, plus keys for the employee and contact dimensions in the fact table.

3. Other

tdeffler

Back to top Go down

How to model a generic user Empty Re: How to model a generic user

Post  ngalemmo Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:13 am

Have a separate User dimension. A user is a different concept than an employee.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Post  zoom Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:59 pm

Existence of an ID ( either employee or contact) in the Fact table means they are the user of the system. Another option you have is to have employee and contact dim IDs into that Fact table. When loading employee's data in the  Fact table then contact id is null and when loading contact data then employee ID is null. If you do not like having null Dim ID values in the fact table, then you can create a "not applicable" or "dummy" row in each Dim and use that Dummy id instead a null dim id.

zoom

Back to top Go down

Post  tdeffler Wed Feb 24, 2016 1:51 pm

@zoom,