Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ?

4 posters

Go down

Difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ? Empty Difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ?

Post  suhridghosh.01 Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:04 am

Hello,

Can any body explain me the major difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ?
     Also use cases for all the above with some examples, when to use what and for what kind of analysis ?

I have two fact tables , one fact tables stores the voice call event carried out by subscribers and the other fact table stores the
sms event carried out by the subscribers. Both the facts are on the most granular level.

I am a report developer currently using tableau as my BI tool, so for my dashboard development where i need to show no. of calls per day and no. of sms per day , which one should i refer from the above three ? Also keeping in mind my dashboard performance on getting the data out of the warehouse very quickly.

Also say my client who is a business user wants find no. of calls per day and no. of sms per day then from the above three which one should i be giving him so that he can find the above data.

Thanks,
Suhrid Ghosh

suhridghosh.01

Back to top Go down

Difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ? Empty Re: Difference between Aggregate Fact Tables, Rollup Tables and OLAP Cubes ?

Post  ron.dunn Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:50 am

How many rows do you have in each fact table?

Which DBMS are you using?

If I didn't suspect that calls and SMSs might be VERY large tables, I'd say that you didn't need to use any of these techniques. Just make sure that you set the table definitions to use a live connection, so that Tableau will query the database rather than trying to hold all the rows in memory.