Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need help designing this star for education sector/university

4 posters

Go down

Need help designing this star for education sector/university Empty Need help designing this star for education sector/university

Post  inventivethinking Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:14 pm

I am new to Dimension Modeling and I am working on doing a dimension model for a university. The current business process that I have picked up is actually sales/revenue. I have been reading different chapters of different books and although I think I have a good understanding of facts and dimensions I am having some tough time fitting the sales process on to the paper.

Ideally the sales process in the school is similar to other businesses where students are customers and the product is the "courses" they take. However in certain situation there are different product types and I don't know how to fit the product type. For example student pays an Application fee, late fee or transcript request fee which is not associated with any course. How do I fit these different type of revenue streams in my star?

What I have done so far is like this

Code:
Sales_FACT
====
Date_Key_FK
Product_Key_FK
Campus_Key_FK
Student_Key_FK
ChargeCredit_SKU
Amount

Product_Key
------
Product_Key_PK
SectionID
AcademicYear
AcademicTerm
AcademicSession
CourseCode
CourseName
ProductType????

Now for certain type of products (e.g. a transcript request fee) - I do not have the coursename,code, year term,session --  I am struggling how this will work.

Anyone has any input on this? or any helpful material/schema examples will appreciate them

Thanks,

inventivethinking

Back to top Go down

Need help designing this star for education sector/university Empty Re: Need help designing this star for education sector/university

Post  rkraj Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:23 pm