Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

One to many relationships

4 posters

Go down

One to many relationships Empty One to many relationships

Post  Martijn Kamerbeek Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:59 pm

Hi,

I am new to dimensional modeling, would anybody be able to guide me on a design questions? An insurance policy has multiple insureds and multiple vehicles. If I create a fact table that lists the total premium for each policy, and make insureds and vehicles the dimensions; how do I link multiple insureds and multiple vehicles to the fact table? Would I use a bridge table? What would the structure be of that table and what keys would I store in the fact table?

Thanks so much for your help!!

Martijn Kamerbeek

Martijn Kamerbeek

Back to top Go down

One to many relationships Empty Two options

Post  hennie7863 Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:10 am

Hi Martijn,

In my opinion you have two options. Create a fixed number of foreign key relations to a dimension or use the bridge table option. The first option depends on the needs of the user. In my practice of my current project i'm logging messages. And these messages can have errors. The question is whether you want to log all the errors (bridge table) or is a registration of 5 errors (?) good enough. The customer said that 5 is very extraordinary. So i decided to model a fixed number of 5 error possibilities. When this is not enough i will enter an another reference tot the error dimension. A practical approach. If you want to register all of the vehicles, etc than you need a bridge table in my opinion.

I haven't done much this in my daily job but i can imagine that you could model this like a normalized n:m relation between the dimension- and the fact table.

Good luck!

Geetz,
Hennie

Last edited by hennie7863 on Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:20 am; edited 1 time in total

hennie7863

Back to top Go down

One to many relationships Empty Re: One to many relationships