Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Junk Dimension Implementation

3 posters

Go down

Junk Dimension Implementation Empty Junk Dimension Implementation

Post  bulu Tue Sep 16, 2014 1:36 am

Hi,

I am new to dimensional modeling. I have been asked to implement a junk dimension on a fact table that has too many char/varchar columns.

I plan to move many of those columns that are of the type 'flags' or 'status indicator' into the junk dimension table.

The problem however is that many of these columns that I plan to move to junk dimension, are used by ETL jobs when populating the fact table. For example, the source data coming from source system is left joined with the existing fact table to decide what to load to the fact table and some of the columns I plan to move to junk dimension are part of the join, and some are used to filter data further.

Now, if I go ahead with this implementation, it will require significant changes to existing ETL jobs. Even then, how is it to be done? Do I first join the junk dimension with the fact table to make it as it was before and then compare with the source system data?

Regards,
Bulu

bulu

Back to top Go down

Junk Dimension Implementation Empty Re: Junk Dimension Implementation

Post  nick_white Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:24 pm

Hi - your existing design sounds odd (not that it is necessarily wrong as there are always reasons for building what might be considered non-standard designs). Why are you joining back to the source data to determine what to load into a Fact table? A Fact is usually an event so when it occurs in your source system you just create a new record in your fact table - so your logic would all be in your system as to whether to create a fact record rather than having to refer to your target.
Comparing source and target is normal for Dimension tables, but not for Facts.