Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Issue concerning transposing a wide table

3 posters

Go down

Issue concerning transposing a wide table Empty Issue concerning transposing a wide table

Post  CNP Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:42 pm

Hi,
I am a newbie in this dim. model world, and on my path to master this skill I have encountered the following issue.
I have made a example with fictional data, so dont look at the data but more the concept.

I have this start table which is need to be converted into a dimensional model, so the users has access to an analytical table.

Start/input table:

ProductNoProfit10p  Profit20p  Profit30p  Marg10p  Marg20p  Marg30p  Price  
In the real example there will be 20 or 30 Profit* and Marg* columns. And its more complex with time, country and other dimensions, but my issue is concerning the Profit and Marg columns, what to do when there are so many.

What the user wants:
The user wants an analytic table where the rows profit and Marg are transposed so the table is more vertical  and slim than wide and horizontal. This is want they want, and I cant change it.
A table like this:

ProductUnikNoProductNoPriceProfitMargPct
What im thinking about:

a fact
D_Pro_sur_Key
ProductNo
Price
Profit
Marg
PCT
and a dimension
D_Product
D_Pro_sur_Key
ProductNo
ProductUnikNo
Profit(containing 10-30)
Marg (containing 10-30)
But i cant make it work...
Any other suggesting on how to handle this? I dont think the design is good. I can change the design, but I cant change what the user wants.
Are there any relevant chapters in Kimballs books which address this?

CNP

Back to top Go down

Issue concerning transposing a wide table Empty Re: Issue concerning transposing a wide table

Post  ngalemmo Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:29 pm

Vertical is fine. Its the best way to handle this.