Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Survey Data with Benchmark Data

2 posters

Go down

Survey Data with Benchmark Data Empty Survey Data with Benchmark Data

Post  pmax Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:55 am

First, let me preface with the fact I am new to dimensional modeling. We utilize a third party company to conduct customer surveys.

We have the majority of the model working as expected, but I am having difficulties in modeling the benchmark data (percent lookup info) that goes along with the surveys.

The Fact_SurveyQuestion table contains each line item (question) for every survey done per customer.

Fact_SurveyQuestion - Has a questionSK - that relates to the dim_Question table.
                             Has an areaGroupSk - that relates to the dim_FacilityReportUnitGroupings table.
                             Has a ReportUnitGroupSK - that relates to the dim_FacilityReportUnitGroupings table.
The dim_question has a NormID. There can be many questions that have the same NormID.
The dim_FacilityReportUnitGroupings has a NormGroupID.

The dim_Percentile table has a percentile and percentTopbox for every NormGroup, NormID and NormYear combination.

PROBLEM: the dim_Percent table that has a many to many relationship to the fact_surveyQuestion table. Each line item data in the Fact_SurveyQuestion table can have many dim_Percentiles. (1000 to be exact 0 - 99.9) (Note that the NormYear in the Fact_surveyQuestion table comes from the year for the DischargeDate stored in that table)

The sole purpose of the dim_percentile table is to lookup the topbox values based on percentile or lookup percentile based on topbox.

I have been reading and I believe that I could use a bridge table to resolve this issue. The bridge would be between the dim_question and the dim_percentile. I do not see the need to have a weight factor since we only need to lookup percentages/topbox info from the dim_percent table.