Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Conformed Dimension Question

3 posters

Go down

Conformed Dimension Question Empty Conformed Dimension Question

Post  BICorvette Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:29 pm

Hello,

I am fairly new to dimensional modeling using the Kimball method and would like to obtain your opinions on a specific modeling scenario I am encountering.

I have 2 business processes that I have derived from the enterprise business requirement findings stage of my project which correlate to the publishing of policy
premium related data for automobile insurance policies.

These 2 business processes are listed below.

1. Policy Premium Transactions
2. Policy Premium Periodic Snapshot

With this said, the underlying data source that I will be referencing to build this DW/BI solution consists of a flat file derived from a mainframe system.

This flat file (+300 million records) is at the transaction level of granularity and contains a raw “dump” of each transaction that occurs on a policy as it happens.  

This would imply that each record contained within this flat file would contain the following data:

1. The amount of the policy transaction (total premium)
2. The type of transaction (cancellation, renewal, change, etc..)
3. Many dimension attributes tied to the transaction such as:
       a. Policy holder information (age, gender, marital status, etc..)
       b. The insurance program
       c. Coverage limits information
       d. Insured vehicle information such as the make, model, and year of the vehicle.
       e. Location of the primary insured and vehicle

It would be important to note that no "customer number" exists from the source system, and so one would not be able to truly identify if a "John Smith" from policy
"A" written during CY 2005 for example is the same "John Smith" that canceled coverage on this policy and then later returned as a policy holder to policy "B" during