Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Column Encryption in the data warehouse

3 posters

Go down

Column Encryption in the data warehouse Empty Column Encryption in the data warehouse

Post  cmp66 Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:53 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new to dimensional modeling so please forgive me for these questions if they seem foolish to some.

In the OLTP there is a standard to keep data encrypted at rest. We have various methods to decrypt the data.

Lets say for example the field SSN is encrypted. SSN is needed in my OLAP system. Should the same security standard be applied to the OLAP system? Reason I ask is because there is a performance hit to decrypt data and if this is done against millions of records then there is an issue.

So generally speaking is data encrypted on the column level in a data warehouse?

If yes then what about performance concerns? If no then what about security concerns? or is there a better way to handle this?

cmp66

Back to top Go down

Column Encryption in the data warehouse Empty Re: Column Encryption in the data warehouse

Post  nick_white Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:01 am

As a general principle, security standards should be consistently applied but it's always useful going back to the reason why a security standard has been defined before making your life difficult by applying it to your DW. For example, if SSN is encrypted in your OLAP system partly because all your company employees (or 3rd parties) have access to your OLAP system - but only a limited group of employees have access to your reporting system, and they can be given a higher security clearance, then it may be this particular security standard need not apply to them.
Assuming that you do have to encrypt data then what you do in your DW probably needs to be considered on a case-by-case basis e.g.