Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tracking history of multiple SCD type 2 attributes

4 posters

Go down

Tracking history of multiple SCD type 2 attributes Empty Tracking history of multiple SCD type 2 attributes

Post  trulyaditya Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:13 am

Hi,

I am new to dimensional modelling and this could be a silly question.

In a dimension table, for a type-2 attribute the entire record is expired using an end_date or a flag column. How to track history of multiple type 2 attributes. For example, let say I have an Account Dimension, where "Account Number" is natural key and "Account Status" and "External Credit Rating"
are type-2 attributes.
In case accounts credit rating changes a new row will be entered and old row will be expired even though account status has not changed and vice versa.

Account Number | Account Status | External Credit rating | Effective From | Effective To
101 | Active | AAA | 01-JAN-2013 | 28-FEB-2013
101 | Dormant | AAA | 01-MAR-2013 | 30-JUN-2013
101 | Inoperative | AAA | 01-JUL-2014 | 9999-12-31

If I have to answer a questions like
x. How many accounts with rating AAA were present in the period 01-JAN-2014 to 31-MAR-2014?
x. How many accounts were rated AAA in period 01-MAR-2013 and 31-MAY-2013 and what was there previous ratings?

This would require some complex SQLs at reporting end. Can we add Effective From and Effective To columns for each attribute we want to track history. Can this be designed differently to answer above questions effectively.

Thanks
Aditya

trulyaditya

Back to top Go down

Tracking history of multiple SCD type 2 attributes Empty Re: Tracking history of multiple SCD type 2 attributes

Post  manickam Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:23 am

You can have current row indicator to always get the latest data. Also account created and expiry date may help you query you effectively.

manickam

Back to top Go down