Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hierarchies in dimensions.

Go down

Hierarchies in dimensions. Empty Hierarchies in dimensions.

Post  noobdimmodeler Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:08 pm

I am new to dimensional modeling and have the following scenario and was wondering if someone would be willing to give me some advice on this. I am a little confused about how to best approach this.

5 fact tables that are not really such a problem in the sense that they are fairly well defined and have many non-conformed dimensions attached to them.
A single (very large in terms of the volumes of data- 7-10 million records) conformed dimension among all these facts.

The questions I have pertain to the conformed dimension mostly.

In this dimension, currently data looks like this:

-Structure 1_level 1
-Structure 1_level 2
-Structure 1_level 3
-Structure 1_level 4

After level 3, we have two types of data. In one situation, there will be one additional level and in the other there will be two additional levels. I have kept these two types together in a single dimension table (just a conceptual model in the planning stage right now) because the five facts are applicable to both types of data and the reporting requirements are to report on both types together.

Now, each of the two types of data (each row in the table), will have a 4 level departmental structure associated with it.

I know it is acceptable to have multiple hierarchies in a dimension but am worried I may be trying to de-normalize this too much.

Also, there are many dimensional attributes I have not mentioned here for the sake of simplicity. But let's say there will be about 15 or so more. Those are not hierarchical in nature.