Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What will be the fate of kimballgroup.com?

2 posters

Go down

What will be the fate of kimballgroup.com? Empty What will be the fate of kimballgroup.com?

Post  kennethd Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:51 pm

Hello,

First, congratulations to everyone at Kimball Group on your retirement and thanks for all of the great work the rest of us can build upon.

I am two weeks into planning a DW/BI project at a company I joined ~9 mos. ago, and the Data Warehouse Toolkit has been immensely helpful in getting my head wrapped around the concepts of dimensional modeling. I am completely new to DW/BI but have 20 years experience programming, dba-ing, and sysadmin-ing, and a couple years struggling with creating BI reports from RDBSs. I am the sole developer on this project, which I am planning, leading, and implementing from infrastructure to schema design to ETL, and so on (we are looking to bring on an analyst to work with me, and business users are eager to participate, but the technical end is all mine).

So you can imagine how relieved I was when it occurred to me two days ago, "I wonder if anyone hosts a Kimball Group Forum?", and only then discovered the vast resources available at kimballgroup.com which I've been devouring ever since. You can also imagine the sense of impending loss when yesterday I came across Margy's retirement announcement from Oct. 2014.

With your upcoming retirement, are there plans to take down the site &/or the forums?

As an open question to the community: are there similar resources you would recommend?

Thanks again,
Kenneth

kennethd

Back to top Go down

What will be the fate of kimballgroup.com? Empty Re: What will be the fate of kimballgroup.com?

Post  Nancy Rinn Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:44 pm

Hi Kenneth,