Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to deal with non-durable NK with split/merge records

2 posters

Go down

How to deal with non-durable NK with split/merge records Empty How to deal with non-durable NK with split/merge records

Post  jwalker Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:58 am

I'm relatively new to warehouse design and am running into an issue on how to address non-durable natural keys. The case I am dealing with is a feed from a data provider that is a list of physicians. The list contains various physician attributes as well as a person_id. A given person_id might change from month to month, which is a bit of a problem. The larger problem, however, is a person might split or join with other persons. Although this doesn't happen often, it's something that needs to be addressed. Here is an example:

"person_id split" scenario
monthperson_idname
June4838J Smith
July2382John Smith
July9928James Smith

"person_id merge" scenario
monthperson_idname
June1831Susy Smith
June1029S Smith
July7642Susan Smith

I am trivializing the data for the purposes of example. My vendor is supposed to be giving me migration information so that I can adjust my data as needed to bring it in line with their system. I will not have to perform any sort of fuzzy name matching or standardization and that is not really the issue at hand.