Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dimensional Modeling - What Goes Into Fact/Dimension?

Go down

Dimensional Modeling - What Goes Into Fact/Dimension? Empty Dimensional Modeling - What Goes Into Fact/Dimension?

Post  akjason Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:34 pm

Hello, let me start by saying that I am new to dimensional modeling and data warehousing but I have been reading the Kimball books to brush up on the concepts. In the data warehouse I am attempting to model, I am not sure whether to model some items as facts or dimensions and have received contradictory advice. I have no control over the source databases meaning I cannot change their design. The primary source database (DS_Pri) tracks applications received and their status (eligible, denied, in appeal etc.) as well as payment and deduction amounts and cases when they are being worked to determine eligibility or in appeal. The second source database (DS_Web) is for applicants to apply online. This Web data is moved into the primary source database periodically, although some Web applications may not move over right away if they are missing info in the Web source. Applicants apply every year and a decision is valid for only that year, they must apply again next year as well if they are interested. Each year about 1 million people apply currently and DS_Pri has 30 years of history! The business users are primarily reporting on aggregated application counts and dollar amounts for payments/deductions but they also do a lot of reports that list the details of individual applications. Below are some key entities in DS_Pri:

1. APP_NO - This table has a unique number assigned to each application. It includes attributes for SSN, DOB, FNAME, LNAME, BIRTH_FNAME, BIRTH_LNAME