Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Slowly Chaging Fact and Dimensions

2 posters

Go down

Slowly Chaging Fact and Dimensions Empty Slowly Chaging Fact and Dimensions

Post  run400 Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:58 am

Hi,

I am relatively new to the world of Dimensional Modelling and would appreciate any insight/guidance.

We are currently in the process of modelling a Complaints Model for an Insurance Company. Essentially, a Customer will make a complaint and this is logged onto the system and progressed. Throughout this process numerous changes can be made, very much due to stages in the process (i.e. complaint, made, complaint officially opened on system and complaint closed). At the same time, due to limitations on the front-end system it is possible that a number of mistakes are made when entering a complaint onto the system and these will have to be corrected. It is this part of the model I am currently having issues with.

There are a range of Dimensions where this history must be kept so it makes sense to have a Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension for these attributes with Start and End Dates included. At the same time, there is a Complaint Fact to hold various measures such as compensation paid. Although it won't often change, it is possible this compensation value entered may be incorrect and will have to be updated. This historical change must be held in the system so they can track by why a complaint reported last week at £10 pound compensation has now changed this £20.