Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dealing with multiple many to many related type2 SCDs

5 posters

Go down

Dealing with multiple many to many related type2 SCDs Empty Dealing with multiple many to many related type2 SCDs

Post  VJ09 Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:41 pm

I am actually new to dw design. I have been reading a lot from these forums and can't appreciate enough for how much I have learned from them.

I have question regarding designing a datamart that deals with employees in my company.

I have three dimensions [employee, team, teamrole] that I am trying to design dimension tables for.

An employee can be part of multiple teams and a team can have multiple employees.
[(Emp1, team1), (Emp2, (team1), (Emp1, team2), (Emp2, team2)]

Within a team, an employee can have only one team role but multiple employees can carry the same team role. But outside the team, employee and team roles are many to many related.
[In in team1--(Emp1, Manager), (Emp2, supervisor)], In team2--(Emp1, supervisor), (Emp2, supervisor)]

All the three dimensions, employee, team and team role are to be modeled as slowly changing dimensions(type2) with a start date and an end date
An employee's role within a single team can change that should be recorded with a team role start date and end date.
An employee's membership with a team can change that should be recorded with a teammembership startdate and end date.
A team can be terminated that should be recorded as a team startdate and end date.

I want to be able to analyze the facts (number of minutes worked, number of accounts processed, etc) over all the three dimensions.