Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to introduce "Market Data" into an existing DW

3 posters

Go down

How to introduce "Market Data" into an existing DW Empty How to introduce "Market Data" into an existing DW

Post  amir2 Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:01 am

Hello

I am relatively new to Dimensional Modelling and I have a new requirement for which I am seeking guidance.

Our existing DW has banking account daily snapshots as its primary fact table. The fact table has a star schema with various dimensions such as Date, Account, Customer, Manager, ....

Our Products team now want to store a handful of Bloomberg market data (e.g. Swap rates, Base rates, Equity index value, Credit Rating) in the DW. The only dimension that this data has a natural relationship with is the Date dimension. But, our analysts need to be able to anlalyse what products were being offered at a particular point in time and see the Market data values at that point. In fact, they want to be able to "link" data from all existing dimensions to the Bloomberg data.

Questions:
- What is the recommended approach for introducing this new fact table? As I say, the only natural relationship that I can think of is the Date dimension. None of the other dimensions have a relationship with the Bloomberg data.

- The users are happy to have all of the 10 new measures lumped as one fact table (this is how they use it now from Excel). Is this OK or should I create multiple fact tables i.e. one for Swap rates, one for base rates, etc. Using this approach, each fact table would contain1 or 2 columns only - this doesn't feel right to me, or is it ok?

Thanks in advance...

amir2

Back to top Go down

How to introduce "Market Data" into an existing DW Empty Re: How to introduce "Market Data" into an existing DW

Post  BoxesAndLines Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:12 am