Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

When to add attribute to Dimension or Create new Dimensions

5 posters

Go down

When to add attribute to Dimension or Create new Dimensions Empty When to add attribute to Dimension or Create new Dimensions

Post  SQLGiant Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:03 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Data Warehousing and Dimensional Modeling. We are currently in a pilot mode to start collecting some data and setting up a pilot data mart.

Luckily I found out about the Kimball Group and have started reading through their materials from the start, but currently I'm looking for a good source of examples references of how the best ways to split up / or not to split up Dimension Attributes in the model.

For example we have should an employee dimension have a department attribute or should the department attributes be in their own dimension, or is it OK to have the attributes in both?

Another example for us is Project attributes. We run medical studies and would like the slice the data by Phase and Therapeutic Area. Should those both be Dimensions, or should they both be attributes on a Studies Dimension.

Thanks in advance for any good references. Please let me know if I need to narrow the question down more (i know it is very broad), or if I'm missing something completely.

SQLGiant

Back to top Go down

When to add attribute to Dimension or Create new Dimensions Empty Re: When to add attribute to Dimension or Create new Dimensions

Post  umutiscan Thu Jul 05, 2012 7:39 am

When you have department attributes in employee dimension or in other dimensions, handling department attributes in ETL processes will be more complex.