Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

modeling multiple fact tables

3 posters

Go down

modeling multiple fact tables Empty modeling multiple fact tables

Post  bobbych Sat May 19, 2012 11:55 pm

Hi I am new to dimensional modeling looking for some advice. here is my scenario...

I have 3 fact tables loans- defect and notes. relation is a loan can have multiple defects(defect events) and a defect can have zero or more notes (note events). Loan has its own dimensions that may be used with defect facts and so on ex: number of defects for a given loan type (loan type being dimension of loan).
My initial thought was to use loan as dimension rather than fact but then there are facts on loan like when loan is created and what is type of loan and etc, so it needs to be a fact

Is it a good idea to use loan table for both fact and dimension or use it as a junk dimension for defects fact table and have defect as junk dimension for notes fact table?. Or is there any better way that i am missing. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

bobbych

Back to top Go down

modeling multiple fact tables Empty Re: modeling multiple fact tables

Post  ngalemmo Sun May 20, 2012 1:09 am

Facts contain measures and FKs to dimension tables. Facts represent business events, loan origination is one such event. Is a dimension ever a fact? No. Is a fact ever a dimension? No. Can you have a loan dimension, maybe. Can you have a loan origination fact? Sure.

Good dimensions are sharable across fact tables. Build fact tables one at a time.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Post  bobbych Sun May 20, 2012 10:53 am