Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Consolidated fact table or separate facts?

2 posters

Go down

Consolidated fact table or separate facts? Empty Consolidated fact table or separate facts?

Post  badaza Thu May 10, 2012 3:58 pm

I'm a newbie in DM design and I need help.

I'm designing a DM for an automotive business. We want to be able to track customers who have a high probability of being unsatisfied. We do have elements that help identify such customers: number of calls, number of claims, number of roadside assistance calls, etc. I do have my main dimensions well started (Date, dealership, vehicle, owners). My problem is: should claims, calls, etc. be reunited in a consolidated fact table? Or should they each have their own fact table?

At the moment, we're using vehicle serial numbers as a proxy for customers, but I eventually would like to be able to track the facts per owner, so that if an owner has had a vehicle for 18 months and had to call many times, etc. he would be flagged for a customer winback call but if he's had the vehicle for 2 months and hasn't had any problems, he doesn't get flagged. Where do I put the dates of start and end of ownership of vehicle? In the vehicle dimension? In the owner dimension? In a factless fact?

Thanks for any insight anyone of you can provide!

badaza

Back to top Go down

Consolidated fact table or separate facts? Empty Re: Consolidated fact table or separate facts?

Post  ngalemmo Thu May 10, 2012 5:09 pm

I would put it in a factless fact table and use it to support FK assignment in the other facts. Problem is, how would you know ownership changed? I continue to get mailings from dealers for cars I have owned in the past... apparently they can't seem to get that information.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Consolidated fact table or separate facts? Empty Re: Consolidated fact table or separate facts?