Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beginning Data Modeling for DW

4 posters

Go down

Beginning Data Modeling for DW Empty Beginning Data Modeling for DW

Post  raghuk Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:34 pm

Hello,

Please bear with me as these are a beginner's struggle to implement the DW the best way possible. I recently started studying about Kimball modeling.

I would like to ask a few questions on common practices on modeling the DW. I need to store historical data all the time; and I'm thinking I should use SCD2.

The following are a few tables. I just need a little help grouping them into a fact/dim category and if there are any intermediate tables that I need to group them appropriately.

Policy (Dim/Fact)
PolicyHistory (Dim/Fact)
======================================================
Id Policy# Term Eff.Date Exp. Date TermPremium Billed Written Status CommissionCode
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 AB0001 1 1/1/2000 5/31/2000 $1000 900 900 ACTIVE CO-130
2 AB0001 2 6/1/2000 12/31/2000 $1900 94.8 1100 CANCELLED TR-1A0
3 AB0001 3 1/1/2001 5/31/2001 $1200 302.44 1000 ACTIVE BB-1C0

AutoCoverages (AutoCoverageHistory) (Dim/Fact)?
================================================
Id PolicyId Type Premium Billed Written Fee1 Fee2
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 1 BI $10 $20 $10 $1 $5
2 1 COLL $20 $30 $20 $1 $5
3 1 PD $30 $40 $20 $1 $5

HomeCoverages
=============
Id PolicyId Type Premium Billed Written Fee1 Fee2
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 1 COVA $10 $20 $10 $1 $5
2 1 COVB $20 $30 $20 $1 $5
3 1 COVC $30 $40 $20 $1 $5

The dimensions are
AutoDriver (auto policy)
AutoVehicle (auto policy)
HomeLocation(home policy)(city, state, zip)

Questions:
==========