Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Oh no, not Bridge tables again!!!

4 posters

Go down

Oh no, not Bridge tables again!!! Empty Oh no, not Bridge tables again!!!

Post  bucko Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 am

Hi Guys!

I am just getting into Data Warehouse and I am reading the books and searching the internet to get the information I need. Everything seems to be going OK except for Bridge tables. Now don't get me wrong I understand they are there to group dimensions to Fact tables. But it is on the technical side that I am having a problem.
I am using SQL Server 2008R2 and I have for example a fact Car table and a dimension Car Details table and I can have multiple cars per one entry in the fact table. I want to create a bridge between these two tables.
So lets say I have this structure

CarDetails table

CarDetailsID int identity(1, 1)
CarDescription varchar(100)
etc.

CarGroup table

CarGroupID int
CarDetailsID int
etc.

Car fact table

CarID int identity(1, 1)
CarGroupID int
etc.

Now in my CarGroup table I have these values

CarGroupID CarDetailsID

1 1
1 2
2 3
3 4
3 5

Now we get to the meat.

I can't link the CarGroup table to the fact table as a foreign key because I do not have a unique key with CarGroupID. If I include both the fields CarGroupID & CarDetailsID this gives me uniqueness but I still can't link it to the fact table because it will not use half of the primary/unique index (CarGroupID) it has to use all of it with both fields. So I would have to include the CarDetailsID field in the fact table, but this would defeat the purpose of the bridge table.
I could change my CarDetails table to include a CarGroupID field and just have the CarGroup table having one field entry of CarGroupID. This I think would work, but looking at all the documentation/references in books and the internet they don't do it that way.

So I am either