Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Role Playing vs single generic Conformed (for drill-across) time dimension

2 posters

Go down

Role Playing vs single generic Conformed (for drill-across) time dimension Empty Role Playing vs single generic Conformed (for drill-across) time dimension

Post  stevejmorgan Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:37 am

Hi All

I've been working with Kimball & BI technologieas for a few years now but something I've always struggled with is the trade-off between Role Playing vs Conformed time dimensions & wondered if I could get peoples opinions/advice on the best approach.

Lets say we have 2 fact tables for a fictitious insurance company: Policy and Claim

There is a conformed Client dim that allows me to do drill-across (based on Client attributes) to compare Policy and Claim facts. This works well in OLAP browsers and as usual the drill-across is very powerful for analysis.

But I struggle whether to add the Time dim as a single shared dim or as seperate Role Playing dims.

Lets say that:
- Policy facts have a key date attribute: Policy Start Date
- Claim facts have a key date attribute: Claim Date

If I add the related Time dim as 2 Role Playing Dims ("Policy Start Date Details" & "Claim Date Details") when I browse the resulting OLAP cube I cannot drill-across betweent the two facts by time - Policy facts don't have Claim Dates & vice versa. This seems very limiting functionaly. Many users will want to compare Policy measures against Claim measures for specific calendar periods.