Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Reusing dimensions in model

3 posters

Go down

Reusing dimensions in model Empty Reusing dimensions in model

Post  shelzalee Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:20 pm

I'm new to data modeling, and I'd like some input on the following scenario.
For example, we have vendor information (all coming from same source table) that can be present for a tag in our inventory (depending on tag type) in three different ways. It can be the producer, vendor, or outside processor (which can only be certain types of vendors so a filtered list). I see this as one dimension say DIM_VENDOR. My question is since I need to join this in 3 times, should I create sql views (we are using Microsoft SQL server, if it matters) to make DIM_VENDOR display as DIM_Outside_Processor and DIM_Producer (with results filtered on the vendor types this can be)? Is it okay to use views in the model or stick with physical tables only aliasing the reused tables as a different name at join time and not filtering for the producer table? Also, in the fact table, If I continued with the naming convention of putting the surrogate key field in the fact table with the same name it has in the dimension, I’d be showing vendor_sk three times in the fact table these dimensions are using, and you'd just have to know how the data was loaded to know which vendor you were getting (vendor, outside processor, or producer). This doesn’t seem like a very good way to go for understandability. I know the model is suppose to be easily understood by the business so I'd think that I'd rename the surrogate keys for the producer and outside processor surrogate key values in the fact table from something like Vendor_SK to OutsideProcess_SK and Producer_SK and use sql views of DIM_VENDOR.

shelzalee

Back to top Go down

Reusing dimensions in model Empty Re: Reusing dimensions in model

Post  ngalemmo Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:06 pm