Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

looking for input about our BI initiative

5 posters

Go down

looking for input about our BI initiative Empty looking for input about our BI initiative

Post  tung Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:04 pm

I'm relatively new at BI, and I'm looking for input or suggestions anyone may have.

My company is in the business of manufacturing and sales. I was hired on, at first as a contractor, to write reports, but we had no reporting database or data warehouse to query.

When I started here, I was given a large textfile, extracted from the OLTP production system, to normalize into a reporting database. It worked well, and we were able to create reports that ran with good performance.

During the course of the year, our parent company bought more similar companies, and it became necessary to create what we called a global sales data warehouse. Some of the companies involved used the same OLTP system, but those that didn't were required to give us a similar flat textfile, which was not always easy for them. This was to be done as quickly as possible, but it was about 6 months of design, loading, and corrections before the users were reasonably confident in the data we provided for them.

I wanted to create a truly dimensional DW, but I was pressed into getting it done ASAP, so what we have now is another relational (3NF) data mart or data warehouse.

Now, it's been in place for about 18 months. I really would like to do another iteration as a dimensional DW, but I'm so busy creating reports (and cleaning up and maintaining reports my boss wrote) that we have no time budgeted for this. I also have spent quite a bit of time dealing with funky tables, views and procedures my boss has written - often cleaning up the structure, renaming columns and tables to align them with our naming convention, and changing the load scripts.