Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bus Matrix - looking for options for my current model

3 posters

Go down

Bus Matrix - looking for options for my current model Empty Bus Matrix - looking for options for my current model

Post  BI Consultant Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:56 pm

Hello everyone,
I'm new to modeling, and hence could use your advice. I'm creating a simple dimensional model and at the Bus Matrix stage identifying business processes.
The business is simple - a ship comes to dock, loads and unloads various liquid products, and leaves. Total process may take 2 to 4 days. We require date time stamp to calculate total hours spent at dock.

Bus Matrix Option I:
Three business processes - Ship Arrival, Ship Product discharge/load, Ship departure: This will have three transaction fact tables. Two of those will be factless - the Ship Arrival and Ship Departure, since there're no measure associated with them. They're only to capture number of ships arriving and departing by date, and time spent on dock.

Bus Matrix Option II:
One business process: Ship docking. It will have one accumulating snapshot fact table, since the process may take 2 to 4 days.

Which is the better option? And why? Are there any other options here?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by BI Consultant on Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:05 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : More details)

BI Consultant

Back to top Go down

Bus Matrix - looking for options for my current model Empty Re: Bus Matrix - looking for options for my current model

Post  VHF Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:05 pm

How about split the difference and have two business processes?

• Ship arrival/departure modeled in an accumulating snapshot fact table (faciliates time-at-dock queries)
• Product discharge/load in a transactional fact table

VHF

Back to top Go down