Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts?

4 posters

Go down

Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts? Empty Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts?

Post  ohmycamote Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:50 pm

I am new to the data warehouse concept so pardon my really basic question.
I already have an idea and an answer in mind but I just wanted a confirm from the experts on this.

Is the only way to pull data in a data warehouse (star/snowflake) through facts linked to dimensions?
Do people pull data say just from dimensions itself only?
E.g., count all active customers in DimCustomer.
Or does that defeat the purpose of having it in this design?

If everything should revolve around FACTS, is the ideal solution for pulling data only through cubes?
Do people just write adhoc queries against Facts-Dimensions? Or just dimensions?

ohmycamote

Back to top Go down

Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts? Empty Re: Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts?

Post  ngalemmo Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:21 pm

Analysis requires the use of facts, but that doesn't prevent you from reporting from a dimension table. Counting rows in the customer dimension, other than knowing how many rows there are, doesn't do much in the way of resolving a business question. To wit, what does 'current' mean? Usually it involves some context, such as customers who purchased something in the last 90 days. You would need sales facts to identify those customers.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts? Empty Re: Only way to pull data from star/snowflake schema is by using facts?

Post  bruno.condemi Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:30 pm

Hi,