Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Location and population dim/fact

4 posters

Go down

Location and population dim/fact Empty Location and population dim/fact

Post  shanemcmurray Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:52 pm

Hi, I'm new to dimensional modeling and I’m trying to wrap my head around all this.

I'm trying to create a model that allows me to represent locations to populations.

I think my dimension tables looks like this:

Table: DimLocation

LocationId
Country
State
County
City
ZipCode

Table: DimYear

YearId
Year

I’m guessing that I should store a dimension record at the lowest level, say zip code?

And Fact

Table: FactPopulation

PopulationId
LocationId
YearId
TotalPopulation
TotalHouseholds

I stuck with representing each location type above zip codes. For example, I can easily see how I can represent a zip code, pretty straight forward… but what about at the State level, or County Level, etc.?

Thanks in advance for any direction or help.

shanemcmurray

Back to top Go down

Location and population dim/fact Empty Re: Location and population dim/fact

Post  BoxesAndLines Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:34 pm

State and city are just aggregations of zips. You join on location_id where state = 'TX'. That will give you all households and total population for Texas.
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Post  shanemcmurray Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:56 pm

Thanks for the input. so, store it at the zip level in the fact table and sum it up to get the state level?

like:

select sum(TotalPopulation)
from factpopulation a join dimlocation b on a.location_id = b.location_id
where b.state = 'tx'

I was thinking the data could be stored in the fact table at any level, like state or county, without rolling it up.

would this be an incorrect approach?

Store it at the lowest grain, then aggregate it up? is that a better approach?

Thanks.

shanemcmurray

Back to top Go down