Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How do I model this and create SSAS cube from it?

3 posters

Go down

How do I model this and create SSAS cube from it? Empty How do I model this and create SSAS cube from it?

Post  ngilbert Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:53 am

Asked tihs question on stackoverflow here, but no responses. I am very new to dimensional modelling and SSAS cube generation and hoping for some pointers...

I'm struggling to correctly model and create an SSAS cube (to be deployed to end-users via Excel) for a set of data to show how students milestones (like 'graduated within 4 years', 'enrolled in second semester') are affected by indicators (like 'completed college level english within first two semesters', 'completed 10 unites in first semester', etc.)

The end result I'm hoping for is something like:
SUCCESS INDICATORS Retention 2nd Term (94%) Retention 2nd year (83%)
College-Level Math
Completed in First Year (58%) 98.00% 91.90%
Did Not Complete in First Year (42%) 87.80% 71.30%
College-Level English
Completed in First Year (84%) 96.90% 88.10%
Did Not Complete in First Year (16%) 78.20% 59.60%
So the question is first, how do I model this?

I was thinking a student dimension (one row per studentid), a year dimension, a milestone dimension (not sure, use junk dimension or the binary style for every combination), an indicator dimension (not sure, junkk or binary), and a fact table with one row per student per year...?

And the second question is, how do I get from the model to a simple cube I can browse in Excel or Visual Studio that shows results like above.

I'm reading the Kimball's Data Warehouse Toolkit but the topic is so new to me I'm just not sure how to approach this.

Note that ultimately i will have 10+ indicators and 10+ milestones, so the table above is just a sample.

I'm a complete newbie, so may need some explicit help - thanks for any help