Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Views as facttables

4 posters

Go down

Views as facttables Empty Views as facttables

Post  ObjectiveC Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:19 am

Hello everyone,

What is the convention for creating multiple views that act as fact_tables ? Is this considered to be bad practice or not ? Would you do it or have you done it ?

I'm new to data warehousing and databases altogether, so bare with me if this sounds like a silly question.

ObjectiveC

Back to top Go down

Views as facttables Empty Re: Views as facttables

Post  Jeff Smith Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:54 am

I don't think there is enough info to go on.

If you want to create an aggregate fact table from a detailed fact using a materialized or indexed view, then I think that would be OK, even preferable if the aggregation is based on dimension tables where the hierarchy is subject to change.

If you want to create views that union data across different fact tables (say you were a bank and had ATM transactions, branch transactions, call center transactions, etc, which were different enough that you wanted to put them in their own fact tables but wanted to analyze all of the transactions based on common dimensions), then I could see that as long as everything was indexed really well - this is sort of a poor mans partitioned table with a twist. This might be needed because of poor dimension table design.

But, if you are talking about creating a view of a fact table where the view involves joins from a source to the dimension tables to get the dimension keys, then I think it's a really bad idea.

Jeff Smith

Back to top Go down

Post  ngalemmo Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:56 pm