Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Time elapsed between dimension attribute and fact

3 posters

Go down

Time elapsed between dimension attribute and fact Empty Time elapsed between dimension attribute and fact

Post  scoob Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:28 pm

Hi

I'm quite new in dimensional modeling and I'm wondering if there's a best practice for my particular case in a CRM like context :

I've got an individual dimension with a hire date attribute and some other dates attributes. It's a SCD type 2 standard dimension because some attributes may change.
I've got an Event Fact table with a lot of events each day
I need to report on the number of events for individual by time elapsed since hired.

I see 5 possibilities to do so and I don't know which to choose :
1°/ Store the time elapsed as value in the fact table (non-additive fact)
2°/ Store the hire date in the dimension and dynamically evaluate the time elapsed by subtracting the hire date to the event date on query
3°/ Store the time elapsed as range value in the Individual dimension. It will increase the Individual Dimension's size because almost every individual will have 1 row by range value as time goes by. (The loose of precision is acceptable with a logarithmical scale).
4°/ Store the time elapsed in a mini-dimension Time_Elapsed_Dimension with both range and exact value to avoid adding row in the Individual Dimension.
5°/ Use a kind of bridge table Time_Elapsed_Range_Dimension to dynamically evaluate predefined ranges with min and max value to get the range value
using the time elapsed (in addition to the 1 or 2 storing solution).

Another important thing to know is that the Individual Dimension as to be used with other fact tables like a Survey Fact table, not requiring this time elapsed information, and a Useful System Decision factless fact table which need it.