Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Parent-Child FactTabletechnique

4 posters

Go down

Parent-Child FactTabletechnique Empty Parent-Child FactTabletechnique

Post  ObjectiveC Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:21 pm

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out building datawarehouses, but I can't get my head around the parent-child facttable.

My problem is that I have a parent-child structure(table1 -< table2) and according to design tip #25 you should merge these two tables into one fact table. My problem with this is that the parent values in a row won't be additves so how would you go about this ? Am I missing the point ? And what kind of relation will the dimensions have on the fact table ? A one-to-one ?

I'd Liked to get this technique down, since this will be essential if you'd want to create a datawarehouse design on something like table1 -< table2 -< and so on.

This is the kind of table I am expecting, but if this is the case the parent value (P_value) isn't an additive anymore. (ignore dots svp)
+-----+---------+------+---------+
| P_ID | P_value | C_ID | C_value |
| 1.....| 2000......| 1......| 12........|
| 1.....| 2000......| 2......| 23........|

Any help will be appreciated !

ObjectiveC

Back to top Go down

Parent-Child FactTabletechnique Empty Parent-Child FactTabletechnique

Post  MJGascoyne Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:31 pm

Hi,

My suggestions are:

The most simple scenario. If the parent table contains a value that is the sum of the values held at the child level then you may not need to hold a separate column. An example of this would be where you are dealing with Order and Line item levels. E.g. Order 1 has two line items 1 + 2, the value on item 1 = 10 and the value on item 2 = 20. This would mean the value at the order (parent) level is 30. In this case the value at the parent level can be derived through aggregation from the child values.